几何尺寸与公差论坛

找回密码
 注册
查看: 1021|回复: 0

hrust from a compressed gas cylinder

[复制链接]
发表于 2009-9-6 09:31:31 | 显示全部楼层 |阅读模式
thrust from a compressed gas cylinder
how do i calculate the thrust from a co2 gas bottle?
2,000 psi pressure.  
looking for maximum thrust available from this power source.
does nozzle size matter?
nozzle size matters, no matter what people tell you. and it's been a while for me, but i think it's all about mass ejection over time. john anderson's book fundamentals of aerodynamics has some exellent nozzle information and even pressure discharge stuff.
anecdotal info on nozzle size:
i was delivering pizzas in 1999 and i dropped the 2-liter of coke that someone wanted (only a dollar or 2 over grocery store price) and it hit on the top. the cap cracked and broke off and the 2-liter shot across the street. it was pretty cool.
i work in the compressed gas industry, some years ago a stuntman approached our company to build a co2 rocket engine that would spin his car in circles upon activation. with a full cylinder 60lb of liquid co2 & an exit port on the electric valve of about 3/8" we were surprised that the thrust lasted about 3 seconds before the balance of the liquid (about 40lb) just froze into dry ice in the cylinder. we tried the same setup with n2 at 2000psi (co2 only good for 1000psi) and it worked beautifully without freezing.
cheers.
size does matter, but that's another forum.
if you really want to know the max thrust you can get, here is the easist way: one sqin. hole = (2000 - 14.7) lb thrust (thrust=deltap*area).  pretty simple right?  but like princy pointed out, you'll want to know how long.  that goes well beyond the scope of my typing as it is a very long differential problem involving the temperature and pressure drop of a rapid decompression.  it's also a matter of choked flow; the nozzle could get choked so that differential eqn becomes a computer program that takes into acct choked flow.